Dantewada, Chhattisgarh: Two Naxals were killed in an encounter with District Reserve Guard (DRG) in the forests of Dhanikarka under Kuakonda police station limits on Thursday.

Representational Image

The incident comes amidst polling in three Lok Sabha constituencies in Chhattisgarh, namely Kanker, Rajnandgaon and Mahasamund.

Recently, a BJP convoy was destroyed by Naxals wherein 5 cops and BJP MLA Bhima Mandvi were killed.

The state has a total of 11 Lok Sabha seats, out of which Bastar Lok Sabha constituency voted in the first phase of elections.

Voters had exercised their franchise in Naxal-affected regions of Dantewada and Sukma amid heavy security on April 11.

During the first phase of polling, a joint party of the Indo Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) and Chhattisgarh Police came under a Naxal ambush in the early hours of the day while on their way to a polling booth.

Rest of the 7 Parliamentary constituencies in Chhattisgarh will vote on April 23.

Polling began on Thursday in 95 parliamentary constituencies spread across 11 states and a Union Territory in the second phase of ongoing elections.

Polling is being held in Lok Sabha constituencies of Assam (5), Bihar (5), Chhattisgarh (3), Jammu and Kashmir (2), Karnataka (1 4), Maharashtra (1 0), Manipur (1), Odisha (5), Tamil Nadu (38), Uttar Pradesh (8), West Bengal (3), and a single parliamentary seat of Puducherry.

Source: ANI

Stay tuned for more updates!