The annually announced awards are honoured to promote literature in for 24 languages. In 2018, the awardees are prized for poetry
(seven books), novels (six),literary criticism (three) and essays (two). 

Representational image

President of the Sahitya Akademi Chandrasekhar Kambar presented these awards at a function in New Delhi. 

Renowned Hindi writer Chitra Mudgal, Dogri writer Inderjeet Kesar, Kannada writer KG Nagarajappa and Kashmiri story writer Mushtaq Ahmad Mushtaq were among 24 writers, who were honoured today with the Sahitya Akademi Award 2018.

The awards were given for 24 different languages. 

The award was given to Chitra Mudgal for her book ‘post box no 203 Nalla Sopara’, which is based on the life of a transgender.

Inderjeet Kesar got the award for his Dogri novel- Bhagirath based on challenges faced by human beings.

K. G Nagarajappa bagged the award for Anushreni- Yajamanike which is a collection of Kannada essays.

Mushtaq  Ahmad Mushtaq received the award for his collection of  18 Kashmiri short stories – Aakh.  An Indian Information Service (IIS) officer Mushtaq Ahmad is presently posted as Head of the Regional News Unit at Radio Kashmir Srinagar.

Complete list

For Collection of Poetry

Sananta Tanti – Assamese

Paresh Narendra Kamat – Konkani

S Ramesan Nair – Malayalam

Dr Rama Kant Shukla – Sanskrit

Dr Mohanjit – Punjabi

Dr Rajesh Kumar Vyas – Rajasthani

Khiman U Mulani – Sindhi

For short stories

Sanjib Chattopadhyay – Bengali

Mushtaq Ahmed Mushtaq – Kashmiri

Prof Bina Thakur – Maithili

For Novel

Inderjeet Kesar – Dogri

Anees Salim – English

Chitra Mudgal – Hindi

Shyam Besra – Santali

S Ramakrishnan – Tamil

Rahman Abbas – Urdu

Short-story writer, Mushtaq Ahmad Mushtaq, bagged the Award for his collection of short stories “AAKH’’

Stay tuned for more updates!