Reports state that a child girl died of dengue fever in the state capital. The Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation (BMC) sent a team to the deceased’s home to investigate. The city continues to experience an unprecedented outbreak of vector-borne disease during this crucial period.

Purandar Nanda, Zonal Deputy Commissioner, confirmed that the BMC had received information of the first dengue death in the Capital city. He said, “We have despatched a team to the victim’s house.”

An investigation is underway to determine where the tests (on the deceased) were performed and whether the patient had any other health issues.”
BMC Commissioner Sanjay Singh, on the other hand, stated that he was unaware of the growth. While speaking with reporters, Singh stated that a big campaign to raise public awareness about the condition is already underway.

In the affected areas, measures are being taken to eradicate mosquito breeding sites. “Dengue cases are on the rise in Bhubaneswar since June 30. The situation is not alarming even though 10 to 15 cases are being reported on a daily basis. BMC has initiated several measures to control the mosquito menace. Once there is an outbreak, the impact lasts for over a month,” said Mishra.

Singh stated that multiple teams have boosted their door-to-door monitoring activities. The impacted areas are being located and destroyed.

Meanwhile, Odisha’s Director of Public Health, Niranjan Mishra, revealed that 426 dengue cases had been registered in the state since January (till yesterday). Bhubaneswar alone recorded 276 cases out of the total.

The dengue fever outbreak in Bhubaneswar is becoming more alarming by the day. Several areas in the Sailashree Vihar and Niladri Vihar areas are worse affected.

The BMC has been blamed by BJP activists for the city’s dengue outbreak. On Tuesday, party activists held a demonstration in the Sailashree Vihar area. “The dengue problem is entirely man-made, and the BMC is fully to blame. The civic authority failed to do its duties, according to Babu Singh, the BJP district president in Bhubaneswar.